Posts

Showing posts from July, 2017

Marali from Peru: Everyday A Girl #EDAG

Image
By Tania Ritko

This is the story of Marali Bances for #EverydayAGirl, as shared by Tania Ritko via UN Online Volunteers.




Marali lives in Arizona, and is originally from Peru. She is a Mathematician, Musician, Choreographer, Dancer, Student, and Mother of two kids.




Marali takes extra math classes at Mesa Community College to keep up her skills. She likes to finish her homework before going to class.




Every other day, Marali likes to teach her three-year-old son different educational activities with a focus on reading and writing.





In the afternoon, Marali takes her daughter to Physical therapy at the local hospital.




After school work is done, Marali teaches her daughter to play an instrument. Marali is a flutist and often practices playing different songs.





Marali is learning to make dance clothing for her dance group.





Every other night, Marali choreographs a Peruvian Folk group, teaching them Peruvian dance. 
This is her, with the group that meets at the local church.





Before a show or presentation…

Susan from USA: Everyday A Girl #EDAG

Image
By Vivian Wan

This is the story of Susan for #EverydayAGirl, as shared by Vivian Wan via UN Online Volunteers.



Susan is 19 years old and currently studying at a university in California.



She prepares the day by heading to the communal bathroom in her dormitory.




She then continues her basic hygienic routine, pack her bag, grab some breakfast, and
then heads to work or class.




Susan works as a Lab Helper in one of the Microbiology, Immunology, and Molecular
Genetics lab at her university.




Her position is a lab helper and she helps make sure that solutions are made, supplies are
enough, and in general, keep the basics of the lab going.



Susan is studying towards a biology degree. In hopes of pursuing a biomedical research
minor, most of her classes are science and mathematics related.




Susan is currently taking a class on Biomedical Ethics. The female next to her is her
professor.





Susan usually ends her day by working a few hours, then heading my back to her
dormitory to finish some homewor…